Back to Home
Chartered Property Casualty Underwriter (CPCU)

Earn the CPCU Designation. Set Yourself Apart.

Built on a foundation of broad technical knowledge, high ethical standards, and demonstrated industry experience, Davenport University's Chartered Property Casualty Underwriter designation program utilizes American Institute for Chartered Property Casualty Underwriters standards to prepare you to meet the changes and challenges of a demanding risk management and insurance marketplace with confidence and professionalism.

CPCUs in all areas of practice are recognized by their colleagues and customers as members of a distinguished community of professionals who have made a commitment to the industry. 

CPCU designation is recommended for:  Agents/brokers, agency principals, claim representatives, line of business managers and executives, insurance litigators, risk managers, and underwriters

Course Sequence: You can take courses in any sequence according to your background, needs, and interests.

The Chartered Property Casualty Underwriter designation program consists of four foundation courses, one elective course, and three courses in either the personal lines or the commercial lines concentration.

Foundation Courses

CPCU 500—Foundations of Risk Management and Insurance (This course is replacing CPCU 510)
CPCU 520—Insurance Operations
CPCU 530—Business Law for Insurance Professionals
CPCU 540—Finance and Accounting for Insurance Professionals

Commercial Lines Concentration Courses

CPCU 551--Commercial Property Risk Management Insurance
CPCU 552--Commercial Liability Risk Management and Insurance
CPCU 553--Survey of Personal Risk Management, Insurance, and Financial Planning

Personal Lines Concentration Courses

CPCU 555—Personal Risk Management and Property-Casualty Insurance
CPCU 556--Personal Financial Planning
CPCU 557--Survey of Commercial Risk Management and Insurance

Elective Courses

AAI 83—Agency Operations and Sales Management
AIC 34—Workers Compensation and Managing Bodily Injury Claims
AIC 35—Property Loss Adjusting
AIC 36—Liability Claim Practices
ARe 144—Reinsurance Principles and Practices
ARM 56—Risk Financing
AU 65—Commercial Underwriting: Principles and Property
AU 66—Commercial Underwriting: Liability and Advanced Techniques
CPCU 560—Financial Services Institutions
ERM 57—Enterprise-Wide Risk Management: Developing and Implementing