Back to Home
Military & Veteran Services
You've been there for your country. Now, we're here for you.

Mission Statement

Davenport University's Military and Veteran Services provides a path of minimal resistance for Service Members, Veterans, and their dependents to reach their educational and career goals. Our Admissions Representatives, Advisors, and Certifying Officials work together to ensure that our Students receive accurate and comprehensive guidance surrounding the university process; from application to graduation and beyond, we've got your six.

Important Facts
8
Associate Degree Programs
27
Bachelor Degree Programs
20+
Graduate Degree Programs and Certificates
20%
Tuition Discount

Actively Serving members of the Armed Forces, Retirees, Veterans with discharges other than "dishonorable", their spouses/partners, and dependents up to age 24.

100%
Military Benefit Participation

Davenport University fully participates in the V.A. GI Bill®, Yellow Ribbon, Federal Tuition Assistance, and Michigan National Guard State Tuition Assistance Programs.

Applying is easy
Step 1: Fill out our Online Application

 

You'll be asked for the following:

Which semester you want to start classes.
Your contact information.
Previously attended colleges.
Which Davenport campus you plan to attend.
Military Status and Branch of Service.
Step 2: Order Military/Civilian Transcripts

 

Have all previous civilian education and military course transcript sent to:
Davenport University - Registrars Office
6191 Kraft Ave. SE
Grand Rapids, MI 49512
or
electronictranscripts@davenport.edu
Request that your Military transcript be sent to the above address.

Step 3: Meet with one of our Admissions Representatives

 

Our dedicated Military and Veteran Services Admissions Representatives have both served and understand the process of applying for military education benefits. 

Reach out to us at military@davenport.edu!

Military Team
Admissions

Davenport University is not just “Veteran Friendly”, we are Military Ready.  Our Military Admissions representatives can offer help with the following: JST/CCAF credit, Military Education benefits, Military Discount, and much much more

For questions or to get started contact us at military@davenport.edu

Central Registrar's Office

The Registrar's Office handles transcript evaluation and enrollment. The V.A. Certifying Officials within the Registrar's Office certify course enrollment to the V.A. for student's using any G.I. Bill® chapters. 

You can contact them directly by emailing vaprocessing@davenport.edu

Bursar's Office

The Bursar’s Office handles billing and payments for courses. The V.A. Certifying Officials within the Bursar's Office certifying tuition and fee costs to the V.A. for students using any G.I. Bill® chapters which pay to the school. 

Student Services

Helping you transition from Service Member to Scholar! Each campus has a designated Military Advisor who can help you with any of the following:

Student Veterans of America

A group for Veterans by Veterans. Davenport Universities chapter of the Student Veterans of America's mission is to provide military Veterans with the resources, support, and advocacy needed to succeed in higher education and following graduation.  

Contact the DU SVA at sva.davenport@gmail.com

The Military and Veteran Services Team
Jason Bos

Admissions Representative
Grand Rapids, Kalamazoo, Holland, and Traverse City.

(616)-742-2075
VETERAN

jason.bos@davenport.edu
Wendy Swalla

Academic Advisor - Grand Rapids
College of Business

(616)-554-5319

wendy.swalla@davenport.edu
John Hume

Academic Advisor - Grand Rapids
College of Health

(616)-871-6705

john.hume@davenport.edu
Heather Johnson

Academic Advisor - Grand Rapids
College of Technology

(616)-554-5302

heather.johnson@davenport.edu
Paul Hebert

Academic Advisor - Lansing
Colleges of Business and Technology

(517)-367-8226

paul.hebert@davenport.edu
Jessica Cheriez

Academic Advisor - Warren
All Majors

(586)-620-4031

jessica.cheriez@davenport.edu
Angel Vianueva

Academic Advisor - Livonia
All Majors

(734)-943-2818

angel.vianueva@davenport.edu
Kristi Zimmerman

Academic Advisor - Kalamazoo
All Majors

(269)-552-3321

kristi.zimmerman@davenport.edu
Frank Roder

Academic Advisor - Holland
All Majors

(616)-395-4615

 

frank.roder@davenport.edu
Sarah Myaard

Academic Advisor - Traverse City
All Majors

(231)-995-1740

sarah.myaard@davenport.edu
Sonya Mateen

Director of VA Certification and Military Transcript Evaluation
Responsible for Certification of Enrollment

(616)-742-1705

sonya.mateen@davenport.edu
Cynthia Gill

VA Certifying Official-Bursars Office
Responsible for Certification of Tuition and Fees

(616)-732-1103

cynthia.gill@davenport.edu
Heather Bazner

VA Certifying Official and Military Transcript Specialist
Responsible for Certificaion of Enrollment

(616)-742-1719

heather.bazner@davenport.edu
Debbie Day

Ch. 31 Vocational Rehabilitation and Federal Tuition Assistance Specialist

(616)-732-1724

debbie.day@davenport.edu
Military and Veteran Student Resources

Veterans Day Slideshow 2016

Contact the Military Team
Group: 
This is a closed group. Only a group administrator can add you.